Maybelline Clear Smooth Convert

04/20/2012 § Leave a comment

Review: Maybelline Clear Smooth Aqua Gel Foundation, All in One Shine Free Foundation and Shine Free Blush

I’ve been trying out commuting this week and I’ve to say that my current make up stash is not for commuting. My sheer coverage Dewey finish looks are no match for the hot sun, sweat and oilies. My better coverage ones melt from my under the sun escpades and my shimmer blushes look very awkward with the sunny days. In other words, I was in a search for better but very affordable make up to use everyday in my now, commuting life.

Ever since I had a chat with our make up artist neighbor, she told me to give Maybelline a second look (because I’ve been ignoring the Maybelline drug store lines for 1) I see people who wear Maybelline tend to have pimples 2) they’re faces are amazingly white and powdery 3) I’ve already developed my staple face products) And when I saw a light weight foundation at a very affordable price, I’ve been prying on the rest of the line which could be great for my use.

Maybelline Aqua Gel Foundation

20120420-191407.jpg

I purchased this product because it claims to be light weight and water based. Also, the SA suggested that this is great for everyday use. I used it at very different conditions together with random products and found that this was really worth the positive reviews on the net.

Likes:

  • light weight and great for hot days
  • coverage is good and the finish is so natural
  • doesn’t break me out
  • a great balance of dewey and fresh
  • affordable and could be easily found in Dept and drug stores
  • a little can go a long way
  • can be easily blended with sunblock and moisturizers
  • dries/sets fast after application
  • Dislikes:

  • doesn’t last very long when worn alone
  • not very effective as it claims to fight the oilies
  • Overall, I will definitely repurchase because this is great and savvy for everyday use. Not too much coverage that makes me look too made ip for everyday. I’ve never worn something so light with a matte finish.

    Maybelline All in One Shine Free Foundation

    20120420-192440.jpg

    However I prefer to purchase and only use the refill cause 1) it saves space 2) it’s cheaper 3) I’ve seen a lot of stories where the pact breaks because the case isn’t very sturdy 4) it already comes with a puff.

    20120420-192608.jpg

    I’ve first seen this from a classmate who also uses the refill and just exclaimed at how pretty the little light pink square pact looked. It was still during my Maybelline indefference days so I did not purchase then. It was only now that I appreciate and understand (cause I always wondered) why Maybelline powders look so amazingly matte. As in matte like “Hello I can see the layer of make up on your face already.” Now that I spend 1/3 of my days under the sun and sweating, I tried this out and did the sweaty test..lol! 🙂 this was so great at keeping my face fresh all day amidst the bad weather.

    Likes:

  • fresh matte coverage
  • evens out my skin so well
  • covers imperfections lightly
  • buildable to full coverage ESP when wet
  • stays on all day
  • doesn’t break me out
  • doesn’t feel heavy on skin
  • easily blend able
  • affordable
  • Dislikes:

  • the little puff. It’s so small and thin that it takes a little getting used to.
  • Overall, I will surely repurchase cause I could even skip my oil control primer with this and it really stays all day in spite of the sweat and my non stop touching on my face, eyelids, temples and forehead (student problems) hehe! 🙂

    Maybelline Clear Smooth Shine Free Blush

    20120420-193733.jpg

    I’ve seen this and the price really got to me. It’s so affordable and because the Clear Smooth line hasn’t made me break out, I bought the blush without even swatching or comparing the shades..lol. No regrets though cause it’s just the blush I’m looking for, great pigment and dewey finish that doesn’t give up after the sweaty day. Also blends so well and easily over my Maybelline Shine Free Foundation. The pack comes with a little puff like a cute kiddie fun size version of drugstore brand face powders which I haven’t tried using.

    Likes:

  • lives up to the shine free label
  • very pigmented
  • a little goes a long way and stays a long time
  • doesnt break me out
  • build able color
  • comes in a lot of shades, 5 or 6 I think and I plan to collect..haha!
  • Dislikes:

  • could easily look clownish when applied too much on some shades
  • Overall, I feel I wouldn’t need to repurchase because I only use so little..I know it’s gonna last a long time 🙂 I plan to buy the other shades 🙂

    A lot of people said they didn’t like the packaging but I liked the green matchy matchy (the powder used to be cased in a similar but green packaging like with the blush) style. I liked the green cause it looks so clean and the plastic used wasn’t the kind that catches stains easily.

    The line works well on me and I use the three items everyday for when I go to school, especially on days when I commute. Yesterday I put on my make up at 5am and went home at 9pm with only one retouch for a matte and fresh look before I had an early dinner with my mom and her friends 🙂

    ❤ Jessica

    Tagged: , , , , ,

    Leave a Reply

        What’s this?

    You are currently reading Maybelline Clear Smooth Convert at notablypretty.

    meta

