Book vs Movie: The Hunger Games

03/25/2012 § Leave a comment

So, I don’t have so much time to read or watch movies anymore but I blog to escape so here I’ll let my brain marvel at what I loved and hated about The Hunger Games.

Honestly, the genre isn’t in my comfort zone but I gave reading this book a try cause both my siblings have read it and I hate getting lost in conversation when this book comes up. Also, I like seeing how movie makers make books into something “watchable” cause I really feel like the details which make the book beautiful doesn’t always look appealing in film.

20120326-000926.jpg

I finished reading the book last Thursday when everyone was already commenting on how great the movie was..poor me. I did enjoy how it was written..how I can picture everything from how Katniss sees things. I loved how details were so meaningful in the book. I also loved how it wasn’t a total bloodbath but while reading, I know I was totes on the edge πŸ™‚ I didnt like though how long and slow the story got in the cave and how it ended up in a love triangle situation 😦 I just thought that it was more of a thriller/drama to end with a love thing..lol total twilight vibes when the book ended :))

20120326-001109.jpg

The movie I was really excited to see cause I did enjoy the book. The actors were so great I totes felt sad at every district 12 scene..but like what my bro said, the movie impression was more sad than poor like in the book and poverty seemed more important..however, not in a movie maybe cause I got so teary eyed with Prim. I liked that it was so sad and how Katniss was seriously how I imagined her to be. I hated some details that got lost..some dialogues I loved from the book. Honestly, I’d rather they made a 5 hour film of this just so they get all the book details in..hehe! Geekery isn’t for everyone okay? πŸ™‚ I didn’t like how the Games wasn’t so thrilling as in the book. But I loved how the movie was more political than lovey covey especially the end. I loved how Katniss had that face that there’s something else at the back of her mind πŸ™‚

20120326-001915.jpg

After the movie, I really had to ask my dad how he found it cause he didn’t read the book and seriously, I don’t think that the movie came out very exciting if you didn’t read the book. Personally, it wasn’t as thrilling as the book but because I’ve read it, I felt excited to see everything. And the thrill only goes as far as when the movie shows something different from the book. Does that make sense? Well, to my dad, it does cause that’s what he said. It seemed boring if not for me and my sins telling him the story. He felt confused at times and there really just could’ve been more action. It is about having to fight for your life naman diba? πŸ™‚

Well, all in all, both were fine. Worth the time and penny..but I’m thinking this isn’t for everyone..so as much as the rave went, I think there’s not much to last about it. I’m hoping that the second one gets better..more action, more depth in the story and more surprises πŸ™‚

If you haven’t seen it, you better get a ticket already cause I bet everyone’s gonna be watching out for the next movie πŸ™‚

❀ Jessica

PS I by the way didn't like how clean they were when the movie ended at the lake, I mean, the totes don't look like they survived a 24 people bloodbath..just sayin πŸ˜‰

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book vs Movie: The Hunger Games at notablypretty.

meta

