My Red Lipstick

01/09/2012 § Leave a comment

My red lipstick lasted more than 8 hours, no retouch! πŸ˜‰

I really am so proud of how much me and my red lippie has gone through last saturday :))
Despite the cold coffee, greasy sandwich, two dinners and a cream puff; i still went home perfectly bloody red..lol πŸ™‚

How did I do it?

I started the day thinking that I was bringing Baby Mio to this long day but we decided to just let him rest; however, ive already put on my Burt’s Bees Nourishing lip balm, Etude House Dear Darling Tint and The Body Shop 100% Natural lip roll on..so basically, I had faint red tinted lips to start with πŸ™‚

In the car, I decided to wear my Sophie Ultimate Lipstick in Red Connection throughout the day since I don’t have my baby love to accidentally smudge it off πŸ™‚

So I layered on first my Burt’s Bees Mango Butter Nourishing lip balm.

20120109-235425.jpg
I love this product cause 1) it really moisturizes and softens my lips instantly 2) it has a thick waxy texture so I know my lips are well protected and 3) the moisture goes on for hours to keep my matte lipstick hydrated πŸ˜‰

Then I dabbed on my Etude House Color Me Nude Lip Concealer, blended it well until very little outlining my lips and then waited a couple of minutes for it to settle and dry πŸ™‚

20120109-235821.jpg
I love this product cause 1) instant moisture as good as any drugstore lip balm sticks 2) it fills in on my lip wrinkles so my lipstick wouldn’t look cracked 3) it gives me an even nude colored lips to start with so I get the desired color easily and evenly and 4) i think it makes my lipsticks last longer.

Finally, I carefully (as I was in a moving vehicle) swatted a good layer of Sophie Ultimate Lipstick in Red Connection on my lips not going outside of my lips. I waited another minute (cleaning up strays) as the creamy/matte lipstick kind of dried. And then I put on another layer just to make sure I get a good coat on the inner part of my lips and so it might help the staying power? Lol

20120110-000832.jpg
BTW this shade is a bright red one. I love this cause 1) it has a matte finish 2) it fills up lip wrinkles and doesn’t appear cracked even sans the lip Concealer 3) it has a very pigmented red, that doesn’t get darker on a second coat so you know that you get as much pigment as you can get at first coat 4) when this finally starts to fade, it gradually turns into a lighter and lighter shade so you get a lightly pigmented lips and not bare lips with a bright red outline and 5) no lipstick marks on my teeth..ta dah! Instant winner! πŸ™‚

From 2pm I strawed (if there’s even a word..lol) a cup of cold coffee, ate a greasy grilled ham and cheese sandwich, ate early Chinese dinner and ate a late buffet dinner plus cream puffs at 9pm! πŸ™‚

Went home at around 11pm and still completely filled without fading and smudges πŸ™‚

Are you scared to do red lips? Me too..I’ve been wanting to try the, since forever. As in I’ve gone from tan to fair..pink to orange..all the make up tricks I’ve heard but it was still quite hard to wear this lippie day or night 😦 until maybe I’ve spent a ton of time with my Lola Tita who forever wears red on her lips so I finally summed up some courage to use my reds :)) here’s my recent photo of her πŸ˜‰

20120110-002435.jpg
and in a very candid pose too..lol!

Here’s a photo of me at daylight :))

20120110-002547.jpg
still candid πŸ˜‰

Then here’s one at around 8 hours later πŸ™‚

20120110-002651.jpg
Looking all haggard and harassed..lol :))

Heres a little kwento:
Yes I’m not lying with no retouch cause at the time when we were in moa and supposed to get ready for the night thing, we got stuck with the huge number of people trying to climb the overpass and then ended up going to the wrong parking lot and then suddenly people are calling that we had to arrive at the debut pronto! As in yuck but I didn’t even get to wash my face! I just spread on some face cream, wiped off with a tissue then tinted my cheeks lightly, donned my falsies and then patted on some gold eyeshadow :)) yuck but true, that’s why it was cleansing and nourishing galore for my face when I got home πŸ™‚

❀ Jessica

Ps. Tell me how you make your lippies last for hours. Do you find wearing red lipstick outside of your comfort zone too? πŸ™‚

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Red Lipstick at notablypretty.

meta

